Skip to content
Gloucester Counts — Gloucester, in numbers.Local help →

Gloucester · England

People and living standards

Gloucester council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Gloucester

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Gloucester local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 103,501 in 1991 to 138,565 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Gloucester council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 106,417 people in 1996; 138,565 people in 2025. 30.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Gloucester council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991103,501
1992104,362
1993103,998
1994104,062
1995105,283
1996106,417
1997107,177
1998107,418
1999109,483
2000110,323
2001109,947
2002110,593
2003111,545
2004112,583
2005113,876
2006115,296
2007117,225
2008118,394
2009119,348
2010120,660
2011121,921
2012123,467
2013124,947
2014126,167
2015128,032
2016129,716
2017130,898
2018131,320
2019131,776
2020132,112
2021132,564
2022133,664
2023136,082
2024137,857
2025138,565
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Gloucester council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 23,835 people in 1996; 25,973 people in 2025. 9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Gloucester council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199121,986
199222,456
199322,752
199423,285
199523,595
199623,835
199724,045
199824,226
199924,405
200024,394
200124,066
200223,876
200323,778
200423,536
200523,410
200623,289
200723,574
200823,772
200923,769
201023,996
201124,245
201224,525
201324,992
201425,209
201525,502
201626,060
201726,103
201826,080
201925,955
202025,805
202125,480
202225,579
202325,888
202426,010
202525,973
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Gloucester council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 66,816 people in 1996; 88,682 people in 2025. 32.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Gloucester council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199166,298
199266,583
199365,801
199465,274
199566,054
199666,816
199767,288
199867,227
199968,901
200069,647
200169,396
200270,085
200371,005
200472,243
200573,642
200675,182
200776,762
200877,459
200978,034
201078,858
201179,502
201280,056
201380,604
201481,159
201582,240
201682,983
201783,857
201883,921
201984,249
202084,510
202184,804
202285,501
202387,136
202488,375
202588,682
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Gloucester council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 15,766 people in 1996; 23,910 people in 2025. 51.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Gloucester council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199115,217
199215,323
199315,445
199415,503
199515,634
199615,766
199715,844
199815,965
199916,177
200016,282
200116,485
200216,632
200316,762
200416,804
200516,824
200616,825
200716,889
200817,163
200917,545
201017,806
201118,174
201218,886
201319,351
201419,799
201520,290
201620,673
201720,938
201821,319
201921,572
202021,797
202122,280
202222,584
202323,058
202423,472
202523,910
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 132,414 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Gloucester · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh8,5436.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African4,8263.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups5,0143.8%
White112,46184.9%
Other ethnic group1,5701.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 121,688 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Gloucester · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White108,46289.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups3,5652.9%
Asian/Asian British5,8394.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British3,4862.9%
Other ethnic group3360.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 109,885 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Gloucester · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White101,69292.5%
Mixed2,1031.9%
Asian/Asian British3,0412.8%
Black/Black British2,5232.3%
Chinese/Other5260.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 17.5% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Gloucester council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,252 per person in 1997; £21,428 per person in 2024. 131.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Gloucester council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,252
19989,270
19999,663
20009,894
200110,522
200210,607
200310,851
200411,313
200512,004
200612,574
200712,667
200812,993
200913,527
201013,532
201113,758
201214,212
201314,672
201415,517
201515,731
201615,945
201716,065
201816,266
201916,950
202017,483
202117,900
202218,914
202320,175
202421,428
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Gloucester council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -12.8% in 1997; -17.5% in 2024. 4.7 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Gloucester council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-12.8
1998-14.4
1999-14.6
2000-16.9
2001-14.9
2002-16.2
2003-16.8
2004-16.6
2005-14.6
2006-14.1
2007-17.5
2008-17.5
2009-15.5
2010-16.2
2011-15.6
2012-15.9
2013-16.2
2014-14.2
2015-17.3
2016-17.2
2017-18.5
2018-20.3
2019-19.6
2020-16.7
2021-18.1
2022-17.6
2023-17.5
2024-17.5
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

17.3%

21 March 2021 · Gloucester local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

18.2%

21 March 2021 · Gloucester local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.9%

21 March 2021 · Gloucester local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£241,000

July 2026 · Gloucester local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,116

August 2026 · Gloucester local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.